USDOT Region V Regional University Transportation Center

NEXTRANS Indiana High School Writing Contest Winners

August 25, 2009

The NEXTRANS Center, USDOT Region V Regional University Transportation Center, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 NEXTRANS Indiana High School Essay Competition:

Chelsea DeLarm, Crawfordsville High School (Crawfordsville, IN)
Mikayla Janney, Tri Junior-Senior High School (Straughn, IN)

Honorable Mentions
Sarah Kelsey, Crawfordsville High School (Crawfordsville, IN)  
Bridgette Yanos, Tri Junior-Senior High School (Straughn, IN)

The top two winners will each receive a check for $250. 

NEXTRANS received more than 80 submissions by high school students from across Indiana, which were judged blindly by a panel of transportation scholars, Purdue Discovery Park officials, and the NEXTRANS Center staff.  The goal of this competition was to encourage 9-12 grade students to consider how integral transportation is to the future of Indiana and our nation, and interest them in pursuing transportation-related careers and/or higher education in the field.


Bookmark and Share

Contact Details

More Information

View All News...