Purdue University Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging Asian American & Asian Resource and Cultural Center Music Appreciation Series

Cultural Mixtape

Celebrating Songs and Composers Across Cultures

Sunday, November 12, 2023 Hiler Theater, WALC



Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center











Black Cultural Center

PURDUE AAARCC MUSIC APPRECIATION SERIES

Purdue University Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center (AAARCC) was founded in Spring 2015 as the fifth Cultural Center on campus. Dedicated to weave the diverse experiences of Asian and Asian American communities, the AAARCC implements pedagogical, cultural, and advocacy programming that involve students, faculty and staff, alumni, and community members.

Interested in connecting with us or supporting our initiatives? Please contact us using the information below.

Visit and general inquiries:

915 5th Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906

Phone: (765) 496-0488 | E-Mail: aaarcc@purdue.edu

Weekly newsletter subscription:

https://tinyurl.com/news-aaarcc

Give to the AAARCC:

https://tinyurl.com/give-aaarcc



PERFORMERS

Asian American & Asian Vocal Ensemble (A3VE)	
Black Voices of Inspiration (BVOI)	5
Indian Classical Music Association of Purdue (ICMAP)	
NeonTaxi	

ASIAN AMERICAN & ASIAN VOCAL ENSEMBLE (A3VE)

The Asian American and Asian Vocal Ensemble (A3VE) is a non-auditioned, student-led ensemble founded in 2022 under the Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center at Purdue. The ensemble is composed of collegiate singers studying under different academic disciplines and diverse backgrounds.

A3VE is dedicated to performing and sharing the music of Asian and works by Asian and Asian American composers with their audiences, showcasing the diversity of Asian cultures and understanding their perspectives through songs.

Members:

Emily Gu Prasiddhi Shivakumaran Sanjana Mohan

Daniel Wu

Raeann Risos

Nolan Jones

Arch Huang

James Zhou

Accompanist:

Danielle Buntain

Program:

Jai Ho - Slumdog Millionaire

Music by A. R. Rhaman

Lyrics by Gulzar and Tanvi Shah

Arr. Mark Brymar

Doraji - Korean folk song

Arr. Ruth Elaine Schram

Baba Yetu

Music by Christopher Tin
Swahili Adaptation by Chris Kiagiri
Arr. Roger Emerson
Joint performance with the Black Voices of
Inspiration

Magia

Composed by Yuki Kajiura

BLACK VOICES OF INSPIRATION (BVOI)

The BVOI Choir was established in 1975 and is comprised of students committed to the performance of music enhanced by the musical traditions and experiences of Africans/African Americans.

The ensemble's concert literature includes spirituals, jazz, blues, anthems, hymns, traditional and contemporary gospel, African American folk music, formally composed works, and other traditional and contemporary styles within the African Diaspora.

Currently, BVOI is under the direction of James Dekle.

Members:

Sopranos

Lauren Mikell Nova Moffitt Sarah Lopez Ogechi Obioha

Altos

Favour Momodu Jasmine Powell Aaliyah Saunders Kriista Wright

Tenors

Grayson Hill Jayla Wesley

Basses

Jorge Perez de Jesus Robert Joseph David Momoh

Musicians

Kenny Collins (bass)
James Dekle (piano)
Justin Montgomery (drums)

Program:

Funga Alafia
West African Greeting Song

Bless Me Kirk Franklin & Maverick City Music

Redemption Song

Bob Marley
(soloist: Jorge Perez de Jesus)

The Best

Mike Chapman, Holly Knight
(soloists: Lauren Mikell, Aaliyah
Saunders, Jayla Wesley)

INDIAN CLASSICAL MUSIC ASSOCIATION OF PURDUE (ICMAP)

The Indian Classical Music Association of Purdue (ICMAP) is a non-profit student organization founded in 1989 that is dedicated to the enrichment of Indian classical music within Purdue, West Lafayette, and the Greater Lafayette community.

Their mission is to share and celebrate the beautiful tapestry of Hindustani and Carnatic music with diverse audiences, including undergraduates, graduates, faculty members of Purdue University, and the residents of West Lafayette and Lafayette.

ICMAP will be performing a collection of songs inspired by Indian classical music in the languages Telugu, Tamil, and Hindi.

Members:

Aishwarya Anand, Aditya Anilkumar (violin)
Vishal Parthasarathy (percussion)
Jose Rohan (guitar)
Deepak Aditya Suresh, Tanvi Mathrubootham,
Ashmitha Ramalingam, Aditi Anand, Sitara Iyer,
Shivani Venkataramanan, Abhinav Ramkumar,
Abhinav Krishnan (vocals)

NEONTAXI

NeonTaxi is a band composed exclusively of Purdue University students that is primarily committed towards recreating artistic elements of Japanese pop culture. Nearly every member of NeonTaxi has been trained in some other musical capacity, enabling them to explore a myriad of subgenres of Japanese music.

Despite their focus on Japanese pop culture, NeonTaxi additionally explores a wide variety of musical genres, with a specific emphasis on jazz.

Members:

Chantel Sun (vocals, guitar)
Fei Chen (vocals)
Franklin Shang (bass, vocals)
Hana Utsumi (vocals)
Steven Huang (bass)
Laurent Yu (keyboard)
Joel Quan (guitar)
Giancarlo Gaglio (guitar)
Gabriel Tseng (drums)
Shrijan Swaminathan (drums)

Program:

Itte by Yorushika
Chu by Ano
This Fffire by Franz Ferdinand
God Knows by Aya Hirano
Seishun Complex by kessoku band
Watashi Dake Yuurei by SICK HACK
Tenshi Ni Fureta Yo by Houkaigo Tea Time
Racing into the Night by Yoasobi